About us

The Munich-Nymphenburg Botanical Garden, with an area of 21.2 hectares and over 350,000 visitors a year, is one of the most important botanical gardens in the world. Around 19,600 species and subspecies are cultivated here. The parts of the greenhouse complex accessible to visitors cover an area of around 4,500 m².

The Botanical Garden with its outstation, the Alpine Garden at Schachen (1,860 m), is involved in national and international research projects to which it provides important material and observation data. The garden has also been involved in the training of apprentices in horticulture for many years. In addition, it serves the preservation of rare European plant and insect species.

Our areas

The Botanical Garden currently has about 100 employees. The garden is divided into 16 sections, each of which is under the supervision of a head gardener. These are trained masters with decades of experience, who in turn instruct gardeners, interns and apprentices.

Greenhouse area

areamanagement
Araceae, bromeliads and tropical fernsKaja Herzog
Tropical propagation, carnivores, begonias Harald Loose
Cacti and other succulents Franziska Berger
Cold house plantsAngelo Razeto
Gesneriads, fuchsias and passiflorasAlexandra Lis
OrchidsBert Klein
Palm house, cycads and tropical useful plantsTillmann Lohff
Tropical aquatic plants Andreas Richter

Outdoor area

areamanagement
Alpine propagation and alpine garden at SchachenJenny Wainwright-Klein
AlpinumN.N.
Arboretum and rhododendron groveAndreas Stadlmayer
Useful plantsRolf Brüggemann
Ecological-genetic departmentRobert Kreutzer
Plant propagation for the SchmuckhofMarkus Schmölz
SchmuckhofBrigitte Huber
Order BedsFlorian Blundell

A team of gardeners assists with general upkeep of the green areas, hedges, pathways, and storage areas, helps set up and break down exhibits, and assists the precinct gardeners during peak work periods.

Gardening-technical area | Garages

The workshops of the Munich-Nymphenburg Botanic Garden look after the entire garden and the institute in terms of electricity, water, heating, air conditioning, lighting, sanitary facilities, repair of garden equipment and machinery, maintenance of existing technology and advice on new acquisitions.
The employees build, among other things, shelters, tool sheds, planting frames, plant trellises, shelves, bed borders, information signs, picture frames, office furniture, cabinets, tables and even complete kitchens, such as in the recreation room of the horticultural department. But also the benches and the large plant troughs come from the internal workshops. Other activities include laying water pipes in the greenhouses, converting fluorescent tubes to more effective LED lamps, and also sharpening garden shears. The workshop also looks after the entire locking system, which currently has over 400 locks. The glaziery glazes broken panes, windows, doors and herbarium cabinets. The mechanics also take care of the vehicle fleet, passenger transport and the transport of larger deliveries.

Science and research

A particular strength of the Munich Botanic Garden is that several scientists – Dr. Andreas Gröger, Dr. Simon Pfanzelt, Dr. Thibaud Messerschmid and Dr. Katharina Bohley – work at the garden and ensure the ongoing scientific documentation of the plant collection. Only if every species that grows with us is correctly named and documented, can we meet the needs of our own research, the requests of external scientists for plant material and the comprehensive information of our visitors.

State Natural Science Collections of Bavaria

The Botanical Garden Munich-Nymphenburg is part of the Staatliche Naturwissenschaftliche Sammlungen Bayerns/ State Natural Science Collections of Bavaria (SNSB); a non-university research and educational institution with six state natural history collections in the fields of zoology, botany, geology and paleontology, mineralogy, anthropology and paleoanatomy, as well as eight school collections.

Currently, the SNSB employs a total of more than 300 staff, of whom around 80 are scientists. In addition to building, maintaining and scientifically processing the collections, they perform valuable research and educational work in the field of biosciences and geosciences.

The collections of the SNSB comprise a total of over 31 million inventory units (animals, plants, fungi, fossils, rocks, etc.), with the SNSB having world significance in many collection areas (e.g. butterflies and beetles, flora of South America, Archaeopteryx and Solnhofen plate limestones, Neuschwanstein meteorite and Russian minerals). In addition to the scientific collections, numerous display exhibits are exhibited in the SNSB museums.

The SNSB’s research focuses on the origin, causes and effects of geo- and biodiversity in space and time. In today’s research landscape, only natural history collections are able to provide sufficiently comparable data on biodiversity both at different times and over the entire history of the Earth. The SNSB has an excellent infrastructure to document and interpret changes in the biosphere. Regional as well as supra-regional and globally oriented collections play an important role. Alpine systems represent a special model region.

Further information on the SNSB homepage.

Forschung am Botanischen Garten München-Nymphenburg

Special collections

collection

Besondere Sammlungen

learn more

Database registration of our plant collection

collection

The scientific value of botanic gardens depends on the documentation of the origin of their cultivat [...]

learn more

Impact of climate change in the Alps

Forschung

Temperatures in the Alps have risen by almost two degrees Celsius over the past 120 years – al [...]

learn more

Über uns

Der Botanische Garten München-Nymphenburg, mit einer Fläche von 21,2 Hektar und über 350.000 Besucher:innen im Jahr, gehört zu den bedeutendsten Botanischen Gärten der Welt. Rund 19.600 Arten und Unterarten werden hier kultiviert. Die den Besucher:innen zugänglichen Teile des Gewächshauskomplexes umfassen etwa 4.500 m² Fläche.

Der Botanische Garten mit seiner Außenstation, dem Alpengarten am Schachen (1.860 m), ist eingebunden in nationale und internationale Forschungsprojekte, denen er wichtiges Material und Beobachtungsdaten liefert. Auch an der Ausbildung von Lehrlingen im Gartenbau beteiligt sich der Garten seit vielen Jahren. Zudem dient er dem Erhalt seltener europäischer Pflanzen- und Insektenarten.

Unsere Reviere

Der Botanische Garten hat derzeit rund 100 Mitarbeiter:innen. Der Garten ist gegliedert in 16 Teilbereiche, die jeweils einer/einem Reviergärtner:in unterstehen. Diese sind ausgebildete Meister mit jahrzehntelanger Erfahrung, die ihrerseits Gärtner:innen, Gesellen und Lehrlinge anleiten.

Gewächshausbereich

RevierRevierleitung
Araceen, Bromelien und tropische Farne Kaja Herzog
Gewächshausanzucht, Karnivoren, Begonien Harald Loose
Kakteen und andere Sukkulenten Franziska Berger
Kalthauspflanzen Angelo Razeto
Gesnerien, Fuchsien und PassiflorenAlexandra Lis
Orchideen Bert Klein
Palmenhaus, Cycadeen und tropische Nutzpflanzen Tillmann Lohff
Tropische Wasserpflanzen Andreas Richter

Freiland

RevierRevierleitung
Alpine Anzucht und Schachen-GartenJenny Wainwright-Klein
AlpinumPierre Steppke
Arboretum und Rhododendron-HainAndreas Stadlmayer
NutzpflanzenRolf Brüggemann
Ökologisch-genetische AbteilungRobert Kreutzer
Pflanzenanzucht für den SchmuckhofMarkus Schmölz
SchmuckhofBrigitte Huber
Systematische AbteilungFlorian Blundell

Ein Team von Gartenarbeiter:innen unterstützt bei der allgemeine Pflege der Grünflächen, der Hecken, der Wege sowie der Lagerflächen, hilft beim Auf- und Abbau von Ausstellungen und assistiert den Reviergärtner:innen bei Arbeitsspitzen.

Werkstätten

Die Werkstätten des Botanischen Gartens München-Nymphenburg betreuen den gesamten Garten und das Institut bezüglich Strom, Wasser, Heizung, Klimatechnik, Beleuchtung, Sanitäreinrichtung, Reparatur der Gartengeräte und Maschinen, Instandhaltung der vorhandenen Technik und Beratung bei Neuanschaffungen.
Die Mitarbeitenden bauen u.a. Unterstellplätze, Werkzeugschuppen, Pflanzgestelle, Rankhilfen, Regale, Beeteinfassungen, Hinweis- und Infoschilder, Bilderrahmen, Büroeinrichtungen, Schränke, Tische und sogar komplette Küchen wie z.B. im Aufenthaltsraum der gärtnerischen Abteilung. Aber auch die Bänke und die großen Pflanztröge stammen aus den internen Werkstätten. Weitere Tätigkeiten sind Verlegungsarbeiten von Wasserleitungen in den Gewächshäusern, die Umstellung von Leuchtstoffröhren auf effektivere LED Lampen aber auch das Schleifen von Gartenscheren. Die Werkstatt betreut außerdem die gesamte Schließanlage mit aktuell über 400 Schlössern. Die Glaserei verglast gebrochene Scheiben, Fenster, Türen und Herbarschränke. Um den Fuhrpark, die Personenbeförderung sowie die Beförderungen von größeren Lieferungen kümmern sich ebenfalls die Mitarbeiter der Werkstätten.

Wissenschaft und Forschung

Eine besondere Stärke des Münchner Botanischen Gartens ist, dass auch mehrere Wissenschaftler:innen – Dr. Andreas Gröger, Dr. Simon Pfanzelt, Dr. Thibaud Messerschmid und Dr. Katharina Bohley – am Garten arbeiten und für die laufende wissenschaftliche Dokumentation der Pflanzensammlung sorgen. Nur wenn jede Art, die bei uns wächst, wissenschaftlich richtig benannt und dokumentiert ist, können wir den Belangen der eigenen Forschung, den Wünschen externer Wissenschaftler:innen nach Pflanzenmaterial und der angestrebten umfassenden Information unserer Besucher:innen gerecht werden.

Eine Auflistung aller Mitarbeitenden finden Sie hier.

Staatliche Naturwissenschaftliche Sammlungen Bayerns

Der Botanische Garten München-Nymphenburg gehört zu den Staatlichen Naturwissenschaftlichen Sammlungen Bayerns (SNSB); eine außeruniversitäre Forschungs- und Bildungsinstitution mit sechs naturkundlichen Staatssammlungen der Fachrichtungen Zoologie, Botanik, Geologie und Paläontologie, Mineralogie, Anthropologie und Paläoanatomie, sowie acht Schaumuseen in München, Bamberg, Bayreuth, Eichstätt und Nördlingen.

Derzeit beschäftigen die SNSB insgesamt über 300 Mitarbeiter:innen, davon rund 80 Wissenschaftler:innen. Neben Aufbau, Pflege und wissenschaftlicher Bearbeitung der Sammlungen leisten sie wertvolle Forschungs- und Bildungsarbeit im Bereich der Bio- und Geowissenschaften.

Die Sammlungen der SNSB umfassen insgesamt über 31 Millionen Inventareinheiten (Tiere, Pflanzen, Pilze, Fossilien, Gesteine etc.), dabei haben die SNSB Weltbedeutung in vielen Sammlungsbereichen (z.B. Schmetterlinge und Käfer, Flora Südamerikas, Archaeopteryx und Solnhofener Plattenkalke, Neuschwanstein-Meteorit sowie Russische Mineralien). Zusätzlich zu den wissenschaftlichen Sammlungen sind zahlreiche Schauexponate in den SNSB-Museen ausgestellt.

Forschungsschwerpunkte der SNSB liegen bei Entstehung, Ursachen und Wirkungen von Geo- und Biodiversität in Raum und Zeit. In der heutigen Forschungslandschaft sind nur naturkundliche Sammlungen in der Lage, ausreichend vergleichbare Daten zur Biodiversität sowohl zu verschiedenen Zeitpunkten als auch zur gesamten Erdgeschichte zu liefern. Die SNSB verfügen über eine hervorragende Infrastruktur, um den Wandel der Biosphäre zu dokumentieren und zu interpretieren. Dabei spielen regionale sowie überregionale und global ausgerichtete Sammlungen eine wichtige Rolle. Alpine Systeme stellen eine besondere Modellregion dar.

Weitere Informationen auf der Homepage der SNSB.

Foto Headerbild: Ben Sagmeister


Forschung am Botanischen Garten München-Nymphenburg

Auswirkungen des Klimawandels in den Alpen

Forschung

Die Temperaturen sind in den Alpen in den vergangenen 120 Jahren um knapp zwei Grad Celsius gestiege [...]

mehr erfahren

Besondere Sammlungen

Sammlung

Besondere Sammlungen

mehr erfahren

Datenbankerfassung unserer Pflanzensammlung

Sammlung

Der wissenschaftliche Wert von Botanischen Gärten hängt von der Dokumentation der Herkunft ihrer k [...]

mehr erfahren